Or du Serail by Naomi Goodsir

One of the most controversial perfumes in my humble collection. The story behind our first meeting is that I was going to try some Olfactive Studio’s perfumes and one of them was Selfie , although, there is no Selfie in New Zealand. No one bottle of Selfie is available yet. So the perfumery shop assistant was so nice to look for something similar for me or at least for something with similar notes and one of those was Or du Serail by Naomi Goodsir and I was extremely impressed by what I smelled from the blotter.

59302

Love Goodsir’s laconic bottle style btw. Nothing extra but this aged brown paper sticker on a rectangular bottle.

Well, I couldn’t wait no longer and ordered a sample of that magic elixir straight away. Well, not really, but anyway I got it as my Christmas gift to myself. And since then it keeps playing tricks on my olfactory receptors.


Created by Bertand Duchaufour (who is also the author of at least two of my favorites: L’Artisian’s Mechant Loup and Penhaligon’s Amaranthine) Or du Serail has really reach and complex composition:

Tops: apple, red berries, mango and sweet orange;

Middle notes: rum, artemisia, sage, coconut, geranium, ylang-ylang and mate;

Base: labdanum, beeswax, honey, tobacco, amber, oak tree, cedar, musk and vanilla.

Screen Shot 2017-06-20 at 21.18.38.png

It’s absolutely not an everyday perfume not just because of all this complexity and diversity of sweet, boozy and spicy notes but also because it never lays on the skin the same way. One day it smells like a magic potion made by 1001 Nights’ wizards and next day it smells like a Turkish bazaar in a hot day when you literally can feel the stickiness of melting loukum and clouds of spice in the air. Love having it in my collection though. It’s a piece of art in perfumery. Definitely.

Leave a Reply

