1740 by Histoires de Parfums

Another story of love from the first sniff. I came to Worldbrand store thinking about trying something new and that was the day of 1740. I had no idea of HdP’s conception and characters behind each perfume so I just picked a bottle from the shelf and sprayed on a blotter… and then immediately on my wrist. And I spent the entire day walking on the streets of windy post-earthquake Wellington taking pleasure in sniffing my arm. I was planning to order a sample of that divine leather but soon I got a chance to buy the whole discovery set. Just because of 1740.

IMG_6511

Yes, when I started seeking for this leathery miracle I found out that the scent was inspired by Marquis de Sade what perhaps should have brought me some understanding of the conception and the story behind the composition or drive my imagination a certain way but that didn’t happen. I still don’t see any connections to the legendary Marquis or I just have my own image of this character.

Anyway. What the scent is about and why it attracts me so much. 1740 is definitely one of the most interesting interpretations of leather in perfume I’ve ever tried. I really love determined leather in Tom Ford’s Tuscan and Ombre but this spicy woods covering the leathery base is rather a reference to timeless Shalimar.

20170416-IMG_9979

The official site gives the following accords:

Top Note: Bergamot, Davana Sensualis
Heart Note: Patchouli, Coriander, Cardamom
Base Note: Cedar, Birch, Labdanum, Leather, Vanilla, Elemi, Immortelle

Personally, I smell a smoky leather all the way (and it lasts for at least 8 hours) powdered with cardamom and patchouli with a beautiful play of vanilla and elemi notes. Absolutely gorgeous in a windy but dry and sunny weather. Perfectly matches a leather jacket (and maybe a nice red Vespa but I didn’t try). It will warm you in the chilly wind and calm down your anxiety even when the aftershocks are shaking the city.

1740_60ml

In some reason, the manufacturer declares 1740 as masculine perfume. Don’t trust this. It’s superior to prejudice and stereotypes. Really happy to have it in my collection. Well, you may think I’m happy to have everything in my collection but I am not and one day I will write a post about those which disappointed me. Some other time.

Leave a Reply

